NES core on MiST

Area for discussing ST(E) clones

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
Atmosfear
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 4:20 pm
Location: Germany

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby Atmosfear » Thu Sep 22, 2016 4:08 pm

sebdel wrote:Wow, that's exactly the kind of feedback I need. Airwolf is broken because of the fix to Bill & Ted's Excellent Video Game Adventure. At least the way I fixed it. I'll look into it tomorrow. Thanks!


NP. Since i have to retest all there may be more possible brocken Roms. I already found 3 more but need first check it on the 2 older cores to make sure it works on one of them. And i have not Finished the Letter A.

User avatar
Atmosfear
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 4:20 pm
Location: Germany

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby Atmosfear » Sat Sep 24, 2016 1:34 pm

Tested Roms A-N and the following work on core_160909 but NOT on 160920/21.

Airwolf
Bases Loaded II - Second Season
Bashi Bazook - Morphoid Masher
Best of the Best - Championship Karate ( No Grafic Corruption but the Player/oponent dont show up on a Match on Core 160920/21. Timing Prob ?)
Boulder Dash
Dr. Mario
Esper Bouken Tai
Goal!
Hirake! Ponkikki

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 890
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby Newsdee » Sat Sep 24, 2016 3:29 pm

The overscan glitches in some games were really bothering me so I added an OSD option to hide them.
I tweaked the size of the overlay based on a few games; it's not perfect but makes quite a big difference in Mario3 and DD2 for example.

I'm afraid this is the pinnacle of my ability in HDL :D

sebdel
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 9:29 am

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby sebdel » Sat Sep 24, 2016 3:57 pm

Great job, I had noticed the glitches in the borders but I thought they were due to poor timings. If it's the actual behaviour of a NES, shouldn't that be always on ?
edit: the real hardware has the glitches too, so... https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FO72jyNB6MI

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 890
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby Newsdee » Sat Sep 24, 2016 4:13 pm

Yes they're a "feature" of accurately replicating the real HW. Many CRT TVs didn't display the full picture so they were unnoticed.

Unfortunately the size of these glitches vary per game (even different CRTs had various sizes of overscan areas) so I think we should be able to disable them just in case. But maybe they ought to be on by default.

User avatar
vebxenon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 454
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby vebxenon » Fri Sep 30, 2016 2:45 pm

Oh, I've tested last core nes_160924.rbf and now Tetris from Nintendo doesn't work :shrug:

User avatar
vebxenon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 454
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby vebxenon » Sun Oct 02, 2016 4:40 pm

I was using the PAL rom. Now I've tested the USA one and it does't work also :( . Seems that some changes have affected compatibility.

sebdel
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 9:29 am

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby sebdel » Sun Oct 02, 2016 7:31 pm

Yes, there were some potentially risky changes to enable a couple of other games. I think it is fixed on master but I just didn't have time to do a proper release. And now I can't do it until Tuesday because I left my mist at work and my workplace is closed tomorrow due to a fire. You can't make that up. Moral of the story: always carry your mist with you!

NML32
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 267
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby NML32 » Sun Oct 02, 2016 10:16 pm

Lol, so true. I hope your MiST didn't get damaged in the fire.

User avatar
vebxenon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 454
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby vebxenon » Mon Oct 03, 2016 11:05 am

Thanks for your answer, sebdel, hope your MiST is well :wink:

Regards,

Salva

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 890
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby Newsdee » Mon Oct 03, 2016 12:55 pm

Yikes... hope everything is alright!

sebdel
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 9:29 am

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby sebdel » Mon Oct 03, 2016 2:34 pm

I know it didn't propagate too much. The day off is for the security check while they put power back in the building. No worry :)

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 890
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby Newsdee » Mon Oct 03, 2016 3:30 pm

By the way, I noticed the sound is a bit off in Mario 3. You can see it at the very beginning; there should be a little sound when Mario moves around on the overworld but it's silence on the core. See this video and compare to the MiST: https://youtu.be/82TL-Acm4ts?t=14

sebdel
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 9:29 am

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby sebdel » Tue Oct 04, 2016 7:50 am

vebxenon wrote:Oh, I've tested last core nes_160924.rbf and now Tetris from Nintendo doesn't work :shrug:


Can you tell me when it worked ? on which binary and with which ROM ? I can't find a combination that works :/

User avatar
vebxenon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 454
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby vebxenon » Tue Oct 04, 2016 8:28 am

sebdel wrote:
vebxenon wrote:Oh, I've tested last core nes_160924.rbf and now Tetris from Nintendo doesn't work :shrug:


Can you tell me when it worked ? on which binary and with which ROM ? I can't find a combination that works :/


I'll tell you at the evening, now I'm at the office 8) . But far as I remember it worked very well using the PAL rom on nes_160909.rbf or in the last core without hidden overscan. Also, I've detected that Dr Mario doesn't work using last core.

Just another question... what's actually the "invert mirroring" option?

Regards,

Salva

sebdel
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 9:29 am

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby sebdel » Tue Oct 04, 2016 8:50 am

It's needed for Karnov and Family Pinball. That's until I figure out a better solution for mirroring initialization for these games. What they have in common is that they use the MMC3 mapper but never initialize the built-in mirroring themselves. So it's up to the emulator (or the hw in our case) to initialize mirroring. And I could not find an automated method that works, hence the option.

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 890
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby Newsdee » Tue Oct 04, 2016 12:56 pm

Found this in the Everdrive forums :D

Karnov and Super Xevious. Their header was instructing the Everdrive N8 that they were using iNES mapper #4 (MMC3). While MMC3 and Namcot 109 (iNES mapper #206) are similar enough that game can sometime still run when emulated as MMC3, this is incorrect. I corrected the header and they now seem to run fine


Turns out there's a whole list affected by this... including Family Pinball. See thread:
http://krikzz.com/forum/index.php?topic=402.0

sebdel
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 9:29 am

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby sebdel » Tue Oct 04, 2016 6:14 pm

Well technically, if we're allowed to edit the header, I have a single bit to change.
I'll make a release tomorrow. I'm pretty happy with it, it is the most compatible yet (to be tested...) and I finally fixed the random button pressed after loading a ROM. Now I get to see all the boot screens on first load ;)

NML32
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 267
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby NML32 » Tue Oct 04, 2016 10:38 pm

wow, this is very good news.

sebdel
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 9:29 am

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby sebdel » Wed Oct 05, 2016 8:20 am

New release available here: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-binaries/tree/master/cores/nes

New games (some are returning, sorry about that):

Code: Select all

Ikari III - The Rescue (U) [!].nes
Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (U) (UBI Soft) [!].nes
Karnov (U) [!].nes
Mafat Conspiracy - Golgo 13 (U) [!].nes
Miracle Piano Teaching System, The (U) [!].nes
Ms. Pac-Man (Tengen) [!].nes
M.U.L.E. (U) [!].nes
NFL Football (U) [!].nes
Paperboy 2 (U) [!].nes
Pinball Quest (U) [!].nes
Pipe Dream (U) [!].nes
Prince of Persia (U) [!].nes
Racket Attack (U) [!].nes
Rygar (PC10).nes
Rygar (U) (PRG1) [!].nes
Secret Scout in the Temple of Demise (Color Dreams) [!].nes
Stadium Events (U) [!].nes
Street Cop (U) [!].nes
Super Glove Ball (U) [!].nes
Top Gun (U) (PRG1) [!].nes
Twin Eagle - Revenge Joe's Brother (U) [!].nes


Those that I know require the Invert mirroring to be ON:

Code: Select all

Babel no Tou
Family Pinball
Karnov
Ms. Pac-Man


Don't load on first try:

Code: Select all

Bigfoot
Bill & Ted's excellent Video game adventure


It's worth tracking those that don't load on first try now, because I fixed most of the reset/start problems and you should be able to browse through your rom collection flawlessly.

Note: If the LED blinks after a ROM was started, it means the load process failed. That's a legitimate reason to reload that is due to an overall instability of the design. Nothing I can do about it right now. I hope that it will resolve itself with a proper timing constraint file, but that's not for now.

User avatar
Atmosfear
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 4:20 pm
Location: Germany

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby Atmosfear » Wed Oct 05, 2016 10:16 pm

sebdel wrote:
Those that I know require the Invert mirroring to be ON:

Code: Select all

Babel no Tou
Family Pinball
Karnov
Ms. Pac-Man




Those Roms from the NoIntro Set also need the Invert Mirroring turned ON:

Code: Select all

Family Jockey
Genpei Touma Den - Computer Boardgame
Ring King
Super Xevious - Gump no Nazo (Check scrolling titlescreen and at the Beginning of the Game for 2 Grey Blocks. Also the Scrolling Garbage on the lower Border is fixed)
Tantei Jinguuji Saburou - Toki no Sugiyuku Mama ni... (Check Intro and compare the Scrolling Text at the Beginning)
Trolls on Treasure Island
Valkyrie no Bouken - Toki no Kagi Densetsu


Check the Games Family Jockey, Super Xevious and Valkyrie. They all have the same Wrong scrolling at the Title Screen which shows me that the Mirroring needs to be turned ON.

I only checked the NoIntro Set so far and working on the GoodNES Set atm but need to remove the ton of trash and dupes first before i can recheck all NoIntro & cleaned GoodNES Set which needs some days more.

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 890
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby Newsdee » Thu Oct 06, 2016 12:17 am

When I have some time I need to try these with the Everdrive. Given the incorrect header ROMs are prevalent, I wonder if they handled it (maybe with a list of checksum) or expect people to fix the header file (which is the cleaner solution but more annoying).

User avatar
vebxenon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 454
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby vebxenon » Thu Oct 06, 2016 11:29 am

Tried last core. It works very very well, and for example, all the new NES releases from Mojon Twins http://www.mojontwins.com/juegos_mojonos/ work like a charm :cheers:

Still missing Dr Mario and Tetris from Nintendo. Hope this problem will be solved soon :cheers: :cheers:

Regards,

Salva

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 890
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby Newsdee » Thu Oct 06, 2016 4:26 pm

That's great! I'll go through my list when I get a chance. Eliminator Boat duel at least doesn't seem to need to cold boot any more.

sebdel
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 9:29 am

Re: NES core on MiST

Postby sebdel » Fri Oct 07, 2016 12:42 pm

New release:
https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-binaries/tree/master/cores/nes

Note: The reset menu entry is hidden behind the "exit" label on the OSD. I'm considering removing the "Start" and "Select" entry and map them on the keyboard instead.

Fix the following games:

Code: Select all

NTF2 System Cart (U)
R.C. Pro-Am (PC10)
R.C. Pro-Am (U) (PRG1) [!]
Sesame Street 123 (U) [!]
Snake Rattle N Roll (U) [!]
Taboo - The Sixth Sense (U) (PRG1) [!]
Tetris (U) [!]

Edit: and Dr Mario of course :wink:

Known to require a cold boot (sometime followed by a reset):

Code: Select all

Bigfoot (U) [!]
Bill & Ted's Excellent Video Game Adventure (U) [!]
Maniac Mansion (U) [!]


Social Media

     

Return to “ST(E) Clones (Suska / MiST)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests