fpga64 can someone test a demoscene demo?

Area for discussing ST(E) clones

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
vebxenon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 420
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: fpga64 can someone test a demoscene demo?

Postby vebxenon » Tue May 24, 2016 11:03 pm

Wow!! :D , now sounds better than ever! :-) Thanks very much Sorgelig!

PS: If I switch to NTSC (just for testing The Simpsons Arcade, one of the few games I'm not able to play), core doesn't work to me, but this problem was already on fpga64_c1541_160110.rbf

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 850
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: fpga64 can someone test a demoscene demo?

Postby Newsdee » Tue May 24, 2016 11:35 pm

Great!! Time for some comparison with my favorite C64 soundtrack :D
The new core is a world of difference over the old one...

MiST C64 core (new 2016 sorgelig version with new ported SID code)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dedOuUMlOx4

MiST C64 core (old 2014 version)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9GDJRWBFZu0

Real C64C (SID2)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=94dQlVd1bfc

C64DTV (composite, mono)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NEQzi7DyMNQ
Last edited by Newsdee on Thu May 26, 2016 2:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ericgus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 303
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: fpga64 can someone test a demoscene demo?

Postby ericgus » Wed May 25, 2016 2:48 am

vebxenon wrote:Wow!! :D , now sounds better than ever! :-) Thanks very much Sorgelig!

PS: If I switch to NTSC (just for testing The Simpsons Arcade, one of the few games I'm not able to play), core doesn't work to me, but this problem was already on fpga64_c1541_160110.rbf



on github I mentioned to Till the NTSC option for fpga64 is broken.. I hope he can fix it.. others have also commented its not working (PAL works fine.. NTSC display just goes black)

ericgus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 303
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: fpga64 can someone test a demoscene demo?

Postby ericgus » Wed May 25, 2016 3:07 am

Newsdee wrote:Great!! Time for some comparison with my favorite C64 soundtrack :D
The new core is a world of difference over the old one...


yes thats a major improvement.. now to just "help" the 1541 subsytem..

Nice to see the core getting some extra love... thanks Sorgelig ..!

Sorgelig
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 454
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: fpga64 can someone test a demoscene demo?

Postby Sorgelig » Wed May 25, 2016 3:25 am

Newsdee wrote:MiST C64 core (new 2016 sorgelig SID)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dedOuUMlOx4

Please don't call it as my SID. It's not mine!
And by the way, no one asked original author if it allowed to use 1541uII code in MiST project...

lips2k15
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 10:19 am

Re: fpga64 can someone test a demoscene demo?

Postby lips2k15 » Wed May 25, 2016 6:26 am

is this the 160110 release?

javidoom
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 117
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 3:16 pm

Re: fpga64 can someone test a demoscene demo?

Postby javidoom » Wed May 25, 2016 8:21 am

Sorgelig wrote:Wow! I hear good old SID ;)


Tested and OMG! There is difference!

Now you can hear the music and effect without feeling strange... hehehe...

Thanks! You're making a great job, improving the cores beyond expectation. :)

User avatar
mambrino
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon May 09, 2016 4:59 pm

Re: fpga64 can someone test a demoscene demo?

Postby mambrino » Wed May 25, 2016 8:35 am

Sorgelig wrote:Wow! I hear good old SID

An incredible improvement in few hours! Now sound feels much better than previous version.

Thanks for your great work ;)

Sorgelig
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 454
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: fpga64 can someone test a demoscene demo?

Postby Sorgelig » Wed May 25, 2016 5:46 pm

Update:
- Switch to JiffyDOS for faster disk operations.
- OSD option to switch audio filter on/off. Actually it is more about switch between 6581 and 8580 sound.
- Some optimizations in clocks. May be NTSC mode will be more stable now.

(attachment has been removed, see the newer version below)
Last edited by Sorgelig on Thu May 26, 2016 1:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

javidoom
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 117
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 3:16 pm

Re: fpga64 can someone test a demoscene demo?

Postby javidoom » Wed May 25, 2016 5:58 pm

Hi!

Thanks! That's awesome!! In a few hours you have achieved to improve in such a good way the c64 core, it's fantastic!

I'm downloading it right now, I purchased Jiffydos years ago for my real C64, so it wont be a problem to use it. Maybe jiffyDOS or other fastloaders support can be implemented checking if rom is present in SD card root, and loading it at boot time. Avoiding any problem for payed roms.

Thanks again!
Regards.

Sorgelig
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 454
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: fpga64 can someone test a demoscene demo?

Postby Sorgelig » Wed May 25, 2016 6:23 pm

Do they still sell JiffyDOS? For hardware not in development more than 20 years?
If there is a problem, then i will remove this release.
Actually, everything about this core is semi-legal, including original FPGA64 code which is prohibited to release without explicit permission (which haven't been granted afaik).
That's why i prefer to stay away from this core (hate of VHDL is another reason).

Moderator is free to remove release and even close the topic.

goran
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 4:17 pm

Re: fpga64 can someone test a demoscene demo?

Postby goran » Wed May 25, 2016 6:40 pm

Sorgelig, I just had to write a big thanks for your work and effort! I was avoiding C64 core mostly because SID sounded so bad. Jiffy is just a big plus on top. :)

User avatar
mambrino
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon May 09, 2016 4:59 pm

Re: fpga64 can someone test a demoscene demo?

Postby mambrino » Wed May 25, 2016 6:41 pm

Thanks again, tested C1541 and now works perfectly with fastloads!

In reference to semi-legal status of core, it's a pity to lost your work. Maybe could be possible, apart from extract rom from core, talk with FPGA64 code creators to get permission to publish this core and it's sources, so anyone who wants can continue with the development.

Cheers ;)

goran
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 4:17 pm

Re: fpga64 can someone test a demoscene demo?

Postby goran » Wed May 25, 2016 6:45 pm

And just to answer the question from the first post: "We Are Demo [2016]" is working perfectly with latest core. :)

EDIT: demo loader doesn't detect disk image change so it doesn't proceed after the "TURN DISK" part.

NML32
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 211
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am

Re: fpga64 can someone test a demoscene demo?

Postby NML32 » Wed May 25, 2016 8:10 pm

I'm so happy to see Jiffy DOS support. I too bought jiffy dos a few years ago to use with my MCC-216.

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 850
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: fpga64 can someone test a demoscene demo?

Postby Newsdee » Wed May 25, 2016 11:10 pm

It's a bit of extra work but perhaps you can make JiffyDOS optional by loading the file from SD card?

As for the source perhaps you can provide a patch file ovee the original sources. That way only those with access to it can compile a new core.

ericgus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 303
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: fpga64 can someone test a demoscene demo?

Postby ericgus » Thu May 26, 2016 1:08 am

NTSC mode is still non functional but my god this is such an amazing improvement to the c64 core!

If it helps .. the NTSC implementation in core fpga64_c1541_150722_r1216.rbf seems to work (if just a little off center but thats ok)
Last edited by ericgus on Thu May 26, 2016 1:16 am, edited 1 time in total.

lips2k15
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 10:19 am

Re: fpga64 can someone test a demoscene demo?

Postby lips2k15 » Thu May 26, 2016 1:15 am

Just tried this and it is 100 times better than the old core - the jiffy dos makes loading much faster and the sound quality is lovley!!! The only way this could be any better would be to have twin sid support!

ericgus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 303
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: fpga64 can someone test a demoscene demo?

Postby ericgus » Thu May 26, 2016 1:22 am

goran wrote:And just to answer the question from the first post: "We Are Demo [2016]" is working perfectly with latest core. :)

EDIT: demo loader doesn't detect disk image change so it doesn't proceed after the "TURN DISK" part.


While this is a bug .. I think in part its how that specific demo is doing disk change detection, other multi disk demos seem to work eg "Edge of Disgrace" seems to work ok.. so its gotta be something quirky with We Are Demo..

could also be some weird conflict with jiffydos.

User avatar
vebxenon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 420
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: fpga64 can someone test a demoscene demo?

Postby vebxenon » Thu May 26, 2016 9:43 am

Outstanding!!! :-) Thanks again for your great work!

Sorgelig
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 454
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: fpga64 can someone test a demoscene demo?

Postby Sorgelig » Thu May 26, 2016 1:33 pm

I don't understand why it's ok to put official firmware (ZX, C64, etc..) but putting JiffyDOS is not ok. It's kind of schizophrenia in my opinion.
Anyway, here is the version which allow to load alternative firmware from SD card.
C64_mist_20160526_2.zip

If you want to replace original ROM with JiffyDOS (or whatever you like) then put C64.ROM file into root of SD card.
Inside C64.ROM:
- 8192 bytes of BASIC ROM
- 8192 bytes of Kernel ROM (replace it by Jiffy_C64.bin)
- 16384 bytes of C1541 ROM (replace it by Jiffy_C1541.bin)

Total size should be 32kb (32768 bytes).

Original C64 firmware is inside core.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
vebxenon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 420
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: fpga64 can someone test a demoscene demo?

Postby vebxenon » Thu May 26, 2016 1:47 pm

Sorgelig wrote:I don't understand why it's ok to put official firmware (ZX, C64, etc..) but putting JiffyDOS is not ok. It's kind of schizophrenia in my opinion.


That's also my opinion. I've saved previous core with JiffyDOS included :wink:

javidoom
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 117
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 3:16 pm

Re: fpga64 can someone test a demoscene demo?

Postby javidoom » Thu May 26, 2016 2:21 pm

Thanks!!!

With your latest release, I'll make two configurations, one with, and another without Jiffydos. This way, we'll have the best compatibility too :)

You're helping us A LOT.

Regards.

User avatar
mambrino
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon May 09, 2016 4:59 pm

Re: fpga64 can someone test a demoscene demo?

Postby mambrino » Thu May 26, 2016 2:26 pm

javidoom wrote:With your latest release, I'll make two configurations, one with, and another without Jiffydos. This way, we'll have the best compatibility too :)


Is it possible to make this in the same SD card? C64.ROM can't be different in the same directory (root), isn't it?

javidoom
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 117
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 3:16 pm

Re: fpga64 can someone test a demoscene demo?

Postby javidoom » Thu May 26, 2016 2:31 pm

I think, this new modded core, needs a new thread in the forum... it's too important... maybe people don't see it inside this topic.


Social Media

     

Return to “ST(E) Clones (Suska / MiST)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests