SAM Coupe core for MiST

Area for discussing ST(E) clones

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

schombi
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2015 6:02 am

Re: SAM Coupe core for MiST

Postby schombi » Mon Jul 04, 2016 5:28 pm

Demos are often special. I once saw the game "Escape from the Planet of the Robot Monsters" on real (but prototype) hardware at 10 and 20 MHz. That was really beneficial for the gameplay.

Sorgelig
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 498
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: SAM Coupe core for MiST

Postby Sorgelig » Tue Jul 05, 2016 9:43 am

There is some progress in turbo. I could reach ~98% of 12MHz and ~85% of 24MHz.
The bad thing - SlowMotion demos have more glitches now. It look like they are not made for any clock, but for 6MHz only. While they look much more smooth at 24mhz, they don't supposed to be run at such clock. I'm not sure at 100% there is no problem in my turbo implementation, but there are no memory corruptions while running different apps. So, it looks like the problems are in timings.

Will release it today later or tomorrow if won't find any problem.

Sorgelig
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 498
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: SAM Coupe core for MiST

Postby Sorgelig » Tue Jul 05, 2016 9:59 am

btw, i've watched youtube video of Slowmotion 1 with Mayhem Accelerator. Although in description written it works at 20MHz, the speed is slower than what i see in my core at 12MHz. So, Mayhem Accelerator has huge contention.

Sorgelig
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 498
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: SAM Coupe core for MiST

Postby Sorgelig » Tue Jul 05, 2016 3:26 pm

New release:
- Turbo modes up to 24MHz.
- Turbo startup.

You need to update to FW 2016/06/26 for correct OSD functionality!

To originally planed 12MHz and 24MHz speeds, i've added 9.6MHz. This speed approximately equals to 20MHz speed of Mayhem Accelerator (at least according to youtube video). Also this is highest speed where DTA demos have no issues. It's >200% of original SAM Coupe speed.

schombi
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2015 6:02 am

Re: SAM Coupe core for MiST

Postby schombi » Tue Jul 05, 2016 3:27 pm

+1

Will test it straight away.

schombi
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2015 6:02 am

Re: SAM Coupe core for MiST

Postby schombi » Tue Jul 05, 2016 5:48 pm

Works, but I had some initial problems where I got a black screen only. F12 displayed the menu and I could see the options for normal and turbo modes (BTW, what´s the difference between "normal" and "6 MHz"?), but no SAM boot screen. I had firmware_160626.upg flashed, but did it again. No change. I then copied the samcoupe.rom from your web site and then it worked. I´m a bit confused, as the ROM had a comment that it was changed last two months ago.

Edit: The Juggler demo is good fun at 24 MHz :D

Sorgelig
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 498
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: SAM Coupe core for MiST

Postby Sorgelig » Tue Jul 05, 2016 7:01 pm

schombi wrote:Works, but I had some initial problems where I got a black screen only.

Core requires the boot ROM. It doesn't matter how it's old in repository, it's required.

schombi wrote:BTW, what´s the difference between "normal" and "6 MHz"?

btw, the difference is written in ReadMe.

I suggest you to study the readme - it's not big.
Your problems and questions are covered by readme.

schombi
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2015 6:02 am

Re: SAM Coupe core for MiST

Postby schombi » Tue Jul 05, 2016 7:20 pm

Will do. I sometimes struggle with the file structure on GitHub.

I had the ROM copied (as I was using all previous versions), but still I had a black screen. Now everything works as expected.

ericgus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 323
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: SAM Coupe core for MiST

Postby ericgus » Tue Jul 05, 2016 11:54 pm

Sorgelig I finally had the time and opportunity to try the SAM Coupe core on the mist and its nice .. I can see why you are interested in this system, it seems sorta Atari ST/Amiga level ish in its abilities .. I look forward to playing with this core more .. thanks for bringing it to us.. Any program recommendations for a new SAM Coupe user to get a good feel for what this machine can do?

SirDavid
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun May 29, 2016 6:50 pm

Re: SAM Coupe core for MiST

Postby SirDavid » Thu Jul 07, 2016 5:56 am


User avatar
farvardin
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 5:50 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: SAM Coupe core for MiST

Postby farvardin » Thu Jul 07, 2016 1:58 pm

It seems the most famous website about Sam Coupé is this one : http://www.worldofsam.org/
Unfortunately, most games are not available, for example: http://www.worldofsam.org/node/174
Disk Image:
TheWitchingHour.dsk.zip (not yet approved)


Now I see there are many Sam Coupé games on this: http://thegamearchives.net/?val=0_2_1_0_0_4_32_0_1_0_0

ericgus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 323
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: SAM Coupe core for MiST

Postby ericgus » Thu Jul 07, 2016 4:58 pm

Great thanks for the references .. Looking forward to exploring this machine.

jsavidan
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 8:25 am

Re: SAM Coupe core for MiST

Postby jsavidan » Sat Oct 29, 2016 8:37 am

Hi,

I'm quite new to the Sam Coupé and to this board as well.
I understood there was mouse support but could not make it work so far.
I've tried with the mouse driver 3.1 by Steve taylor, and it does not detect any mouse.
I've tried with a USB mouse and an Atari Mouse. When I plus my atari mouse, I get a strange behavior with numbers keyed in ('1' to '4').
What I'm trying to do is to use the XMOUSE and YMOUSE statements in basic, but also would appreciate playing lemmings with a mouse.

Does anyone have a hint ?

thanks

jsavidan
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 8:25 am

Re: SAM Coupe core for MiST

Postby jsavidan » Mon Oct 31, 2016 9:05 am

Hi,

Forget it, I found the issues :
1 - Bad core/firmware combination
2 - No mouse support in mode 1

User avatar
Higgy
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:38 pm

Re: SAM Coupe core for MiST

Postby Higgy » Tue Feb 28, 2017 8:20 am

Hi,

Anyone else having issues with the latest release 20170206 ? https://github.com/sorgelig/SAMCoupe_MI ... r/releases

I can't get anything to load and the ROM BOOT screen either has no 'Miles Gordon' text or it appears mid way on the screen. Also the RAM changes, 0K, 400K & 900K ????

Previous builds run fine. ROM BOOT screen is always correct, with text and 512K.

I have a MiST v1.2 and have tested with a number of SD cards.

Thanks


Social Media

     

Return to “ST(E) Clones (Suska / MiST)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests