Atari ST Hard disk Image file for Mist

Area for discussing ST(E) clones

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
paulobecas
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2014 12:42 pm
Location: Porto, Portugal
Contact:

Atari ST Hard disk Image file for Mist

Postby paulobecas » Thu Feb 16, 2017 9:18 pm

I am looking for help creating an hd image for de ST core on Mist.

I found this ready to use pack but i need to create a bootable hd image with the content. Since i'm an Amiga guy and new to Atari, i was wondering if there's some kind of guide that can walk me through.

Thanks

User avatar
jotego
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 10:02 am
Location: Valencia (Spain)

Re: Atari ST Hard disk Image file for Mist

Postby jotego » Sat Feb 18, 2017 10:18 pm

I have downloaded that image file. It looks wonderful. I will try to hook it up to MiST. I'll tell you if I am successful. I just didn't want to miss saying thanks for sharing the link!

User avatar
Higgy
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:38 pm

Re: Atari ST Hard disk Image file for Mist

Postby Higgy » Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:40 pm

paulobecas wrote:I am looking for help creating an hd image for de ST core on Mist.

I found this ready to use pack but i need to create a bootable hd image with the content. Since i'm an Amiga guy and new to Atari, i was wondering if there's some kind of guide that can walk me through.

Thanks


On page 3 there is a ready made IMG for MiST. I had a quick try and it works well. Just make sure you have a spare 8GB card to burn it to:

https://mega.nz/#!XNo1jY5Y!WbdlJyPgmwBuIS1BUE-5abQ7bkD3lngJkeG6oKI8DRY

mahen
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 189
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 3:11 pm
Location: France

Re: Atari ST Hard disk Image file for Mist

Postby mahen » Wed Feb 22, 2017 9:26 am

Interesting :-) Are we supposed to "burn" it to the SD with a regular "dd" ?
Amiga user since 1993 ;-)

User avatar
Higgy
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:38 pm

Re: Atari ST Hard disk Image file for Mist

Postby Higgy » Wed Feb 22, 2017 10:04 am

Yes, I use Win32Imager (for Windows). Any of that type of program should work.

mahen
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 189
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 3:11 pm
Location: France

Re: Atari ST Hard disk Image file for Mist

Postby mahen » Wed Feb 22, 2017 11:00 am

OK it works ! Hmm, is there a fat partition accessible to add options to the MiST ini ? It doesn't seem to mount on my computer for some reason.
Amiga user since 1993 ;-)

User avatar
Higgy
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:38 pm

Re: Atari ST Hard disk Image file for Mist

Postby Higgy » Wed Feb 22, 2017 12:23 pm

When I place the card in my (Windows) PC I can access a approx 500mb FAT partition with MiST .ini etc

ericgus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 313
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: Atari ST Hard disk Image file for Mist

Postby ericgus » Wed Feb 22, 2017 4:38 pm

On a Mac when you put the card in you can see all the multiple partitions .. most are not used.

User avatar
fury23
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2016 2:08 pm

Re: Atari ST Hard disk Image file for Mist

Postby fury23 » Wed Feb 22, 2017 6:41 pm

On windows only first partition is accessible on SD card.

Data on another partition can be extracted with this utility: http://atari.8bitchip.info/drimus.php

Does anyone know how to remove some partitions from SD card?

ericgus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 313
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: Atari ST Hard disk Image file for Mist

Postby ericgus » Wed Feb 22, 2017 10:48 pm

Well if nothing, now I got an idea how to set up multiple partitions on the ST core using FAT ..

User avatar
Higgy
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:38 pm

Re: Atari ST Hard disk Image file for Mist

Postby Higgy » Thu Feb 23, 2017 7:55 am

If the hidden partitions are not used and the data fits, could someone refit the data onto a 2GB and create a new .IMG?

I would prefer to use up a 2GB card instead of a 8GB one :)


Social Media

     

Return to “ST(E) Clones (Suska / MiST)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest