MIST and AV signal

Area for discussing ST(E) clones

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

RobeInie
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 11:11 pm

MIST and AV signal

Postby RobeInie » Thu Mar 16, 2017 11:42 pm

Hello !!

I would like to know if there is any way to connect MiST to AV monitors ,
I have two AV monitors (one Commodore and one sanyo 'green') with no SCART conector, only AV.

Thanks !

User avatar
DrOG
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 172
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: MIST and AV signal

Postby DrOG » Fri Mar 17, 2017 4:11 am

You can build a VGA-to-YPbPr cable, the details are in this topic: viewtopic.php?f=101&t=31006

This will result a 'luminance' (brightness) signal on the Y plug, which is identical to monochrome composite video. You can feed this signal to your monitors, they will accept it, but there will be no colour (ideal for green Sanyo). Unfortunately only a few cores support this video mode. For your Commodore monitor it would be even better an 'S-Video' output, the Y signal is given, and a C (chroma/colour) instead of Pb or Pr, but it's not implemented (yet).

User avatar
Higgy
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:38 pm

Re: MIST and AV signal

Postby Higgy » Fri Mar 17, 2017 7:07 am

Is your Commodore monitor for an AMIGA? Because if it has a 9 pin dtype input you can connect the MiST and all other SCART devices.

RobeInie
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 11:11 pm

Re: MIST and AV signal

Postby RobeInie » Fri Mar 17, 2017 2:54 pm

HeLLo, thank you for your answers !

My monitor is Commodore 1702, no 9pin. With front AV and rear Chroma , Luma and Audio (mono)

Sanyo green phosphore is only AV, no sound.

bernouilli
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 5:02 pm
Location: Paris/France

Re: MIST and AV signal

Postby bernouilli » Fri Mar 17, 2017 3:24 pm

You must use some video converter to convert RGBHV to composite.
There are devices that do this and are quite cheap :
http://www.ebay.com/itm/272579761437

But I don't know how would the quality be since there is, in such device, modification of the resolution.

I think it's best if you use some direct converter, either some homeade cable based on the yPbPr cable or something like this :
https://www.electronicsinfoline.com/pin/13466

Or here you can order a converter ( v3.1 will do) :
http://jrok.com/hardware/RGB.html

seastalker
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun May 15, 2016 3:44 pm

Re: MIST and AV signal

Postby seastalker » Mon May 22, 2017 11:29 am

@bernouilli: Curiously, that device has VGA in and VGA out. What's the point/purpose converting to the same output (like those HDMI boxes with HDMI in to out)?

@RobeInie: I have two Commodore CRT monitors that accept RGB (1902 has 9 pin male and 1084S-D1 has 9 pin female) so am very interested too.
Maybe best is some adapter to convert either monitor's input to SCART female input. Something maybe like this:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/PHILIPS-CM883 ... 0754731999

Would that work? Oddly it says C64 is not compatible. I wonder when using my real Atari 800xl/C64 with Scart cable if ANY picture results.
Which provides best video option on a Dell UltraSharp LCD monitor, Samsung LED TV, or Commodore CRT monitor:

-XL and 64: via SVIDEO on all
-MIST via VGA (except on Commodore CRT monitor via above linked adapter)

Would an upscaler provide any benefit at all?

bernouilli
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 5:02 pm
Location: Paris/France

Re: MIST and AV signal

Postby bernouilli » Tue May 23, 2017 8:26 am

seastalker wrote:@bernouilli: Curiously, that device has VGA in and VGA out. What's the point/purpose converting to the same output (like those HDMI boxes with HDMI in to out)?

Its VGA input is a not a real VGA input, the signal in input is something like the one provided by the mist in 15khz mode, here VGA only stands for the connector. The input signal is then converted to a VGA signal by doubling the lines.

User avatar
Higgy
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:38 pm

Re: MIST and AV signal

Postby Higgy » Tue May 23, 2017 1:03 pm

@seastalker - I have a 1084S-D1 and use it with RGB from the MiST but I have to use a Sync Stripper. Some people say they don't need one, but I do. I have a DTYPE-9 PIN to male SCART cable, I plug this into a FEMALE-FEMALE SCART adaptor, which inside I fitted a sync stripper, I then have 5v in (to power the stripper chip) and a 3.5mm audio out jack to feed the 1084 or separate speakers.

Once you have this device you can feed any old console/computer with an RGB output signal to it. NTSC or PAL.

My father-in-law just fixed my 1084S so I have not used it for a few months. I was getting horizontal black lines. He found there was a dry solder joint on a resistor in the vertical sync circuit.

seastalker
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun May 15, 2016 3:44 pm

Re: MIST and AV signal

Postby seastalker » Tue May 23, 2017 6:47 pm

Interesting... I've just been using the MIST with a standard VGA cable plugged into the Dell or LED tv's "PC in." Is that solution lesser than some other cable? I do have Lotharek's scart cable for it but... like the Xl/64 scart cable, they currently sit unused because the crap upscaler box has horrid audio buzz and that was my only scart input. This RGB stuff is so complicated but I know if I find a solution I don't have to think about it again. :) So I may need to add this ebay item so both monitors use the same gender to use the same cabling:
https://tinyurl.com/l5fvpak

@Higgy: How do I know if I need a Sync Stripper or not? Would you graciously provide links to the gear I'd need to buy?

Now I just found this cable and wonder if this would be the best connection on one of the two Commodore monitors:
https://tinyurl.com/mwvxmxk

I do like the idea of future proofing any console/computer I may get later with a simplified universal RGB connection type.

User avatar
Higgy
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:38 pm

Re: MIST and AV signal

Postby Higgy » Wed May 24, 2017 7:18 am

Hi,

I don't think there is a way to tell unless you try feeding in a signal. I think Commodore had monitors labelled the same, but they used electronics/tv tubes from other manufactures. Mine I am pretty sure is from Korea.

I used this guide for the Sync Stripper - http://www.mmmonkey.co.uk/composite-syn ... er-lm1881/

Because I already had a MiST VGA/SCART cable for my other CRT's I bought one of these - http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/21-Pin-Scart- ... XQDnpTXCJh

And placed the electronics inside. You might be able to make things smaller and have a 1084 9PIN DTYPE to SCART FEMALE cable with the sync stripper inside the SCART housing. Being a cheapskate I also found the FEMALE-FEMALE couple cheaper than buying just a SCART FEMALE socket!!

DrChaos
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 11:21 pm

Re: MIST and AV signal

Postby DrChaos » Wed May 24, 2017 10:37 am

@seastalker:
Testing if you need a sync stripper is quite simple if you know that your monitor is able to handle 15Khz. Just use your VGA cable and switch to 15kHz in one of the 31Khz/15Khz cores. If you don't get a picture with 15Khz you can be pretty sure that it is a sync issue...


Social Media

     

Return to “ST(E) Clones (Suska / MiST)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests