Reproduction of Falcon's box

No topic. Everything you want to speak about. Please just stay courteous.

Moderators: Mug UK, Silver Surfer, Moderator Team

User avatar
Robson
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 612
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 7:03 am
Location: London

Reproduction of Falcon's box

Postby Robson » Wed Dec 02, 2015 10:42 am

Hi,

I'm in the process of the reproduction of the original cardboard box for the falcon computer without the polystyrene inserts though.

I'm wondering if there is any interest for this at all.

A lot depends on your replies here.

Thanks.
------------------------------------------------
http://www.tercsirobi.byethost14.com
------------------------------------------------

User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2511
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: Reproduction of Falcon's box

Postby alexh » Wed Dec 02, 2015 1:16 pm

Depending on price and quality I'd take two.

User avatar
Robson
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 612
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 7:03 am
Location: London

Re: Reproduction of Falcon's box

Postby Robson » Wed Dec 02, 2015 1:22 pm

Forgot to mention: it will be printed and processed by a professional printing company, I do the artwork only.
------------------------------------------------
http://www.tercsirobi.byethost14.com
------------------------------------------------

User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2511
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: Reproduction of Falcon's box

Postby alexh » Wed Dec 02, 2015 1:49 pm

Are you going to be able to get approx the same type of corrugated cardboard they used? The lack of polystyrene inserts could be a problem... but ... are they the same as STe/STfm inserts?

User avatar
Robson
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 612
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 7:03 am
Location: London

Re: Reproduction of Falcon's box

Postby Robson » Wed Dec 02, 2015 2:02 pm

I don't know about the exact type of cardboard yet, it's going to be the traditional brown one. Thickness is not yet confirmed.

Polystyrene is the same as in ST/STE boxes, I'm pretty sure. Box dimensions and folding is exactly the same as an STF/FM/E box.
I wonder why Atari went for this cheap looking box with the "flagship" falcon but it's easier for me to be cost effective now.
------------------------------------------------
http://www.tercsirobi.byethost14.com
------------------------------------------------

User avatar
ICS
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 449
Joined: Sun Apr 28, 2002 12:26 am
Location: .de

Re: Reproduction of Falcon's box

Postby ICS » Wed Dec 02, 2015 10:48 pm

Depending on the price, I'd be interested too.

crashman
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 128
Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 2:23 am
Location: Vilanova i la Geltrú - Barcelona
Contact:

Re: Reproduction of Falcon's box

Postby crashman » Wed Dec 02, 2015 11:43 pm

Count on me for one too.
I lost mine with one home moving 13 years ago.
260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 520STFM, 1040STE, 4160STE, STACY 2, MEGA ST, MEGA ST2, MEGA ST4, MEGA STE, TT030, FALCON030, FALCON030 with Centurbo 2rB, Firebee
SH204, Megafile 30, Megafile 60, Megafile 44
SM124, SM146, SC1224, SC1435
Satandisk, Ultrasatan, HxC SD, Hxc SD Slim, NetUSBee, CosmosEX, Unicorn, Gotek HxC
2600VCS, LYNX, LYNX II, JAGUAR

User avatar
Robson
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 612
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 7:03 am
Location: London

Re: Reproduction of Falcon's box

Postby Robson » Thu Dec 03, 2015 12:15 am

Well, I'm not going to make my fortune out of this. I consider this project that I produce the box for myself but to be effective I need to make more than I actually need. So what you pay is the manufacturing cost plus shipping. This is a box with Atari logo at the end.
Btw shipping. You must consider if it's worth to you a 57.5x40x21 cm box shipped from the UK. Even if it's flat packed it's a big one.
------------------------------------------------
http://www.tercsirobi.byethost14.com
------------------------------------------------

Silly_Pony
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 216
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 7:18 pm

Re: Reproduction of Falcon's box

Postby Silly_Pony » Thu Dec 10, 2015 5:01 am

I think I'd be interested depending on how much it costs. I don't have a falcon but I am moving house next year and seeing the box would wind my mates up.
1040STe, 1040STf

User avatar
Robson
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 612
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 7:03 am
Location: London

Re: Reproduction of Falcon's box

Postby Robson » Thu Dec 10, 2015 11:35 am

Artwork is almost done as vector, I'm just waiting for couple of measurements from a real box.
------------------------------------------------
http://www.tercsirobi.byethost14.com
------------------------------------------------

User avatar
Atari74user
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 196
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 8:00 pm

Re: Reproduction of Falcon's box

Postby Atari74user » Thu Dec 10, 2015 1:09 pm

Actually I would be interested too!
Atari Falcon 14mb, 68882, Dual 8gb CF & Steinberg FDI
Atari Jaguar, Rotary controller, Skunkboard & Cat Box
Atari 520STFM 4mb, TOS 2.06 switcher, OverScan, GigaFile, PARCP-USB, Unicorn-USB, System Solutions MiniS HD, SyQuest drives, ICD Link II, PhatBoy MIDI Controller, Philip Rees 5M MIDI merge box, Soundpool M04, Steinberg MIDEX, SMP II, Emagic Log 3, C-Lab Unitor 2, Combiner & Export expanders

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2255
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: Reproduction of Falcon's box

Postby spiny » Wed Dec 23, 2015 3:13 pm

I don't even own a Falcon, but would be interested if it wasn't too pricey :)

User avatar
SoundDoctor
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 287
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 7:24 pm

Re: Reproduction of Falcon's box

Postby SoundDoctor » Wed Dec 23, 2015 8:57 pm

Robson wrote:Artwork is almost done as vector, I'm just waiting for couple of measurements from a real box.


Did you get the measurements you were waiting on OK? Let me know if you need help on any dims or details. I have my original box in near mint condition. I'm happy to verify any measurements for you so long it doesn't involve splitting the seams and folding it flat.

I'd be interested in a repro box to ship my second falcon which may be up for sale soon.
TT030 4mb/16mb/1Gb, Coco. Falcon 030 Stock 14mb (Lynxman), 1Gb CF. Falcon 030 Stock 14mb (Atari) 170mb IDE. Mega 1 (mash up labelled Mega 4) 4mb (Frontier XtraRam w/ SIPPs) ICD ADSpeed ST OverScan. Mega 4 (currently dead), Mega 2, 520 STe (SIPPs), 520 STFM.

User avatar
Robson
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 612
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 7:03 am
Location: London

Re: Reproduction of Falcon's box

Postby Robson » Wed Dec 23, 2015 9:50 pm

That is very kind of you, thanks. My friend is busy nowadays so I'd probably need your help. I will pm you with the details I need. It would be also good to have them from 2 different sources anyway. No folding involved.

I am thinking to replace the poly insert with custom cut foam, similar to the ones used for flight cases but this is not yet confirmed I want to see the box happening first.
------------------------------------------------
http://www.tercsirobi.byethost14.com
------------------------------------------------

KLund1
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 329
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: Reproduction of Falcon's box

Postby KLund1 » Wed Dec 23, 2015 11:24 pm

Any way to get a quick look at what this would look like?
UPDATED: Falcon 030(FX-1)(CF int & removable SD), MSTE 4+PS3000 4160STE 2.06+HDFD STacy4-internal-USD 1040STFM+I.B.Driver-5.25"FDD 1040STF 1040ST 520ST-AdSpeed 400-48k 800+810x2+820+822+825+830+835+850, 800XL+IndusGT 600XL 130XE+XF551x2 Portfolio 1200XL APE(Warp+32in1 OS SuperVideo 2.1 256k RAMBO)+1050x2 USD'd+SIO2PC, PC1+PCH204+PCM124+PCF554x2

User avatar
Robson
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 612
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 7:03 am
Location: London

Re: Reproduction of Falcon's box

Postby Robson » Thu Dec 24, 2015 7:29 am

KLund1 wrote:Any way to get a quick look at what this would look like?


I'll share the artwork as image once done. I want it to be as accurate as possible.
------------------------------------------------
http://www.tercsirobi.byethost14.com
------------------------------------------------

vido
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 7:39 pm

Re: Reproduction of Falcon's box

Postby vido » Thu Dec 24, 2015 7:38 am

Would be also possible to make the version of the case where FireBee would fit into it?
I guess there would be a lot of interest as there would be an option to use Radeon garphic card which doesnt fit into the mini case it can be ordered with the FireBee.

User avatar
Robson
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 612
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 7:03 am
Location: London

Re: Reproduction of Falcon's box

Postby Robson » Thu Dec 24, 2015 11:29 am

This is about the cardboard box (of original packaging) not the case of the falcon.
------------------------------------------------
http://www.tercsirobi.byethost14.com
------------------------------------------------

User avatar
Robson
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 612
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 7:03 am
Location: London

Re: Reproduction of Falcon's box

Postby Robson » Fri Dec 25, 2015 7:36 pm

KLund1 wrote:Any way to get a quick look at what this would look like?


Something like this but still work in progress.
I will not add the barcode, there is a QR instead, saying Atari Falcon 030 - RT.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
------------------------------------------------
http://www.tercsirobi.byethost14.com
------------------------------------------------

User avatar
Robson
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 612
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 7:03 am
Location: London

Re: Reproduction of Falcon's box

Postby Robson » Thu Dec 31, 2015 7:08 am

Artwork is finished as per picture.

Production next. Price will be £35/each ex. shipping and additional costs.

There will be 20 pcs produced, 15 will be available, I hope very soon.

Screen Shot 2015-12-31 at 06.57.42 copy.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
------------------------------------------------
http://www.tercsirobi.byethost14.com
------------------------------------------------

mlynn1974
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 10:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Reproduction of Falcon's box

Postby mlynn1974 » Sat Jan 02, 2016 12:39 am

Would you be able to make boxes for the STFM and STE? My one remaining STE box is falling apart.
It would be good attention to detail to have separate STF, STFM and STE boxes.
The original boxes were quite strong but I haven't checked the thickness in millimetres or anything.

A new slimline box with thinner polystyrene would be handy, or a design with a plastic carry handle. It was difficult to carry the original boxes under the arm! I could do with 3 for long term storage. Maybe just a plain cardboard box and polys to fit any STF\STFM\STE\Falcon and a printed paper sleeve would be a good idea?
Still got, still working: Atari 4Mb STe, 520STFM, 2.5Mb STF.
Hardware: Cumana CSA 354, Ultimate Ripper, Blitz Turbo, Synchro Express II (US and UK Versions).

User avatar
Robson
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 612
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 7:03 am
Location: London

Re: Reproduction of Falcon's box

Postby Robson » Sat Jan 02, 2016 6:59 am

SoundDoctor spotted few things. Big thanks for that and for the pictures he sent. I'll make those corrections. I used the artwork as a base from the user manual I found and there is no hyphen in 32-BIT COMPUTER on the box, but on manual's cover. This is a big one, I'm glad he spotted (and surprised that I missed) :).

Re: ST, STE box. It's basically the same box as the falcon but different material. I can do the artwork but my original point here was to produce the missing box for my falcons. It is very rare and expensive to find a boxed bird while ST/STE can be found with nice boxes. This will be a one off, I'm not planning to produce any more falcon boxes once my need is fulfilled.
I see your point about the A500 type handle but how ofter would anybody carrying an ST in it's box nowadays?
------------------------------------------------
http://www.tercsirobi.byethost14.com
------------------------------------------------

User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2511
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: Reproduction of Falcon's box

Postby alexh » Mon Jan 04, 2016 9:55 am

I am still interested in two @£35 + postage. But with such a small production quantity I'd happily take one and let someone else get one?

User avatar
Robson
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 612
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 7:03 am
Location: London

Re: Reproduction of Falcon's box

Postby Robson » Mon Jan 04, 2016 10:30 am

Thanks for confirming your interest.

First come first served. I can increase the quantity by few but reading the post 20 seems too be more than enough. It's been viewed enough times to justify that quantity.
------------------------------------------------
http://www.tercsirobi.byethost14.com
------------------------------------------------

User avatar
Atari74user
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 196
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 8:00 pm

Re: Reproduction of Falcon's box

Postby Atari74user » Mon Jan 04, 2016 12:46 pm

The artwork looks nice, always impressed by your artwork. Looking forward to this!
Atari Falcon 14mb, 68882, Dual 8gb CF & Steinberg FDI
Atari Jaguar, Rotary controller, Skunkboard & Cat Box
Atari 520STFM 4mb, TOS 2.06 switcher, OverScan, GigaFile, PARCP-USB, Unicorn-USB, System Solutions MiniS HD, SyQuest drives, ICD Link II, PhatBoy MIDI Controller, Philip Rees 5M MIDI merge box, Soundpool M04, Steinberg MIDEX, SMP II, Emagic Log 3, C-Lab Unitor 2, Combiner & Export expanders


Social Media

     

Return to “Chat forum [ENG]”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests